Certified Copy
















I woke up, a few usual nightmares, turned around, the walls were shocked, the windows, it was pissing the rain outside & I was in bed, the dark room, the dark tic tocs and I had to get out, I had to go. It took me a while to come out of the bed, check the ticket for 10:00, having a coffee, 2 cigarettes in a row. It has to be a different day, Im gonna watch the latest movie of Abbas Kiarostami. I had a hard time finding the ticket, finally found one online for over extra $5.00. I guess it's worth it. The usual shit of headache started swirling in my head. No one is blamed for that. Just another morning. I dressed up cutely, wore the floral blue top you bought for me, my ice blue torn jeans, a white shirt on top, a white woolen hat, green shoes, a black bag, big green sunglasses which got soaked in the rain and a navy jacket. It was Kiarostami's day. I bought a coffee, smoked two cigarettes on my way there. I waited in 2 wrong lines to get in. Stupid me, I had forgotten I had a ticket. I was watching people, so damn bloody crowded. Lets say the busiest show I had ever seen at VIFF. It was raining cats  & dogs & people were standing in lines to hopefully get tickets. Im proud of Kiarostami, there were a couple of Iranians, but the majority of the folks were foreigners, Im proud of him again. He is our most recognizable director. Finally the show, the craziest show ever. The biggest screening room of the Granville Empire's salon was packed, Holy Smokes!

It wasnt a movie at all, it was the presentation of paintings, amazing photos, poetry, philosophy & in sum, LIFE. I was in ecstasy by the beauty of shots, devilish lighting, breath-taking locations, Kiarostami's smart sense of humor. I was admiring his wisdom, knowledge of the frame & the color. When it was over, I just came to this conclusion that "Certified Copy" is the best work of his, tremendously marvelous. Although Juliet Binoche's acting was one of  the main points that made this movie outstanding, I'm quite certain that any actress he would have picked, could pull that role off perfectly. He is the master of deepening into the  characters & take the emotions out & play with them.

That was it, I knew its gonna be a different day, when you have a perfect morning, have you ever noticed that how you feel hollow for the rest of the day. it seems you had the amazement of the day & now the reality of its monotony is inside you, crawling into your body & soul. Im gonna watch a very sad persian movie at 7, called "White Meadows". Im assuming its gonna depress me more, just one of those striking movies about women's oppression, culture cruelty & aggressiveness.



I feel so lonely, there isnt anyone out there to call them & ask for a company for a movie. There s no one. Its raining like nuts & im lying down in bed, the silence is eating me & dont even want Bach to come in & take me out of this gloomy afternoon. By the way, watch this masterpiece of Kiarostami, this monster of Cinema's post-modernism.